Interesting Snake Facts

smokey_snakes.jpg

There are 2,700 species of snake in the world. They come in 2,000 ways & colors.

There are snakes that lived 16,500feet (5,000meters) up in the mountains.

There are 100 species of dangerous & venomous snakes that can kill you.

The Giant Python could grow to 20feet (6meter). But 188 species are known to kill a human being.

There are 400 species of venomous snake. 235 of them can’t kill you.

In the pools the Anaconda can swim very well. They can strike up 23feet (7meters) per second. Imagine I can only strike 4feet (1.2meter) per second.

The Black Mamba can move at speeds of 18mph (24kph).

You don’t think the sidewinder is slow. It can move at 16-20kph (12-14mph). The Green Mamba can also move at 19- 21kph (13-15mph).

The Slowest snake is the Rough Scaled snake ( a kind of tiger snake) it moves at 3-7kph (1-3mph).

The Yellow Rat snake can be 7feet (2.1meters) long.

The African Python grew to 7.8meters (25feet 8inch). The record length of African Pythons is 9.78meters (31feet) long. But the Green Anaconda which weighs 400kilograms (900pounds) record length is 12.2meters (37feet 4inches).

The world’s longest snake goes to Reticulated Python it can grow to an amazing 17.8meters (59feet 2inches). But true stories of 190feet (53meters) anaconda from the wild heart of Amazon Basin.

The Puff Adder 1 kind of venomous snake, can strikes 3/4 times a second (18feet per second).

26 thoughts on “Interesting Snake Facts

  1. so glad to find your website! i love snakes! my art studio is called Copperhead Studio because of my flaming red hair and the fact that i really, really love snakes.

  2. I have a question. I live in Midwest, Illinois. I saw a snake that I believe was black or dark brown with lighter brown or beige colored stripes. It was about 11/4 inch thick, it moved to fast to see how long it was. I don’t think it was a garter snake, but my husband thinks it could be a copper head, I didn’t get a look at it’s head. I am trying to find out if it is poisonous or not. Any thing you know could help. Thanks Christine

  3. my mom kept saying itnot a worm its not a worm but then i looked closer at it and i saw its little bitty eyes and its tongue but i still dont no what it is so if anyone can email me at torrie_boyd13@yahoo.com and tell me more about this sanake i would greatly appriciate it

  4. i have been bitten by a snake, i went to hospital and stuff, but i just wanted to know what sort of snake it was. this is what it looked like, on top it was like a brown-green colour but on the bottom of the snake it was a light brown. i was told that i could of been a baby brown snake because of the way i was sick but they werent to sure. if anyone knows what type of snake it was could you please email me at daniels55@bigpond.com thank you.

  5. hey, my name is laura and i’m 17.
    i’m really love reptiles, especialy snakes.
    that’s why i want to become a herpetologist.
    if you kwow a place where i can learn much more about snakes, their behavior and if they’re venomous or not, please let me know: laurtjecolyn13@hotmail.com
    thx anyway.

  6. hey im elizabeth and i have a scary or funny story it happened to my momma she was goin to the restroom and she sat on the comode we have cats and dogs so we had to put the hamsters in her bathroom so they couldnt get them and a snake got in the cage while we wasnt around she seen something moving andshe looked guess what it was a gray color and had a greenish blue belly could you let me know what it is email me at elizabethmoore73@yahoo.com@yahoo.com thanks!!!! id be very happy%^^*^^%

  7. Thank you for taking the trouble to put together such an amazing collection of snakes for the public to see and enjoy.
    I am taking care of two twin boys, almost 2 and a half; they love snakes so much (they both have one small one each);sharing your photos as well as your Snake Information will be such fun.
    I only wish that I could read the names of the snakes so that I could share that information with the boys, none the less, kudos to a magnificent site.

  8. interesting collection of snakestyles-never knew there were so many different kinds and colors. good collection of facts about them, too. i had to laugh at one of our classmates’ typo labeling his exhibit for the science fair he wrote “Great Western Snack” on his little pet’s terrarium… anyone want to share recipes? I’ve eaten eels and other such critters… slugs might be pretty good- no bones or fat, anyway….send suggestions to the Julia Wild Wilderness campers’ kitchen

  9. Snakes??? whooo i hate them. i find it weird some people fall in love with them.
    there was time in school i spent i think the whole night with a snake by my side without knowing. it was about a meter long, small head and brownish in colour. i stil wonder even by now why it did not harm me when i screamed until it left. wat kind and type that snake was?

  10. i think that this website is a good idea to let people now about snakes so that they a awear of the type of snakes are around us and i also wish to be as person who deals with snakes cause i have always loved them and want to learn more about them

  11. I’VE ONCE SEEN A SNAKE IN A DOCUMENTARY, THE THING THAT INTERESTED ME WAS IT HAD 2 HORNS ON ITS HEAD LIKE A BULL,AND IT LIVED IN THE DESERT I THINK.
    DO YOU KNOW WHAT KIND OF SNAKE IS THAT AND CAN I FIND ANY PHOTOS OF THIS PARTICULAR SNAKE ON ANY WEBSITES.
    IT WOULD BE A GREAT HELP.
    THANK YOU.

Leave a Reply

